In order to better integrate my blog with my website, better manage comment spam, and reduce my dependence on Google, this blog has moved to In order to avoid broken links I won't be deleting content from here, but no new content will be added, so please update your bookmarks and feeds.

Friday, 25 September 2009

Something you mightn't know about Google Reader Shared items

You probably know that Google Reader has a "Share" option which puts a blog post into your own "Shared" feed so friends who subscribe to that can see what you've been reading.

And you probably know that recently they added a "Share with note" option that lets you... well, add a note when you share it so your friends can see what you think about what you've been reading.

But what you mightn't know is that if you select both "Share" and "Share with note" it goes into your shared feed twice (once with and once without the note). This is a bit stupid, but there you are. To stop it happening just don't select "Share"; selecting "Share with note" all by itself is sufficient.